Salsa for 4th of July

I love chips and salsa but I am very particular about it. I don’t like salsa from the jar ( it doesn’t look appetizing to me) and I am concern about all the preservatives that they put in there. Though my version still use canned tomato, I choose one that has only ingredients I can pronounce.  Making Salsa myself, I am able to use other fresh ingredients like lime, cilantro, onion and jalapeno and be able to control the amount of salt I put in. ( no vinegar or other acid in my salsa)

salsa

I made this for forth of july celebration. The red color of salsa and the color of corn tortilla chip ( blue and yellow) make a perfect presentation for this special day.  You can also sprinkle vegan cheese ( such as Daiya Cheese) on top of tortilla and pop it in the oven for a few minutes. You will have melt cheesy tortilla to dip in refreshing salsa. Here is how I made my salsa.

salsa ingredients

Ingredients

1 canned tomatoes in juice
2 tomatoes, cored and chopped
1 clove of garlic
3/4 cup chopped onion
3/4 cup chopped cilantro
2 tbsp fresh lime juice ( about 1 lime)
1/2 tsp of salt
1/2 chopped jalapeno pepper ( more if you like spicy)

salsa 2

Directions

  • Put all the ingredients in food processor or blender, blend it all together for a few minutes
  • Give it a taste and adjust salt, lime juice, pepper as you like
  • Enjoy it with tortilla chips or pita chips

Pretty easy, huh? it taste good and fresh too. Me and my husband already finish half of the batches right after I finished making it. It is good with beer too! 🙂 perfect for 4th of July celebration and any other BBQ or Party. Hope you like it.

Leave a Reply

