Miso glazed eggplant

If you are following my posts, you can guess that I like making Japanese food. Though I enjoy  almost every international food, Japanese is one of my favorite and it is easily made vegan. This miso glazed eggplant is my favorite appetizer to order at japanese restaurant. I didn’t like eggplant that much when I grew up but the flavor of this one has changed my mind, little sweet and salty with an aroma of sesame.

I had been searching for the recipe and tried to make this at home. The traditional recipe would normally require Mirin, a sweet cooking alcohol that is commonly used in japanese cooking, and sake ( Japanese Alcohol Beverage). Those two ingredients are very pricey and I do not want to spend too much to make one simple dish.  So here the simpler version of mine with a few ingredients that you probably already have in you pantry. I couldn’t tell the major difference in flavor and I quite like the result. Now, I can enjoy my favorite appetizer at home, at the fraction of a cost of dining in restaurant, and you can too.

Mizo Glazed Eggplant

Yield: 2 servings
Prep Time: 5 mins
Cooking Time: 35 mins

P1000871

Ingredients

1 eggplants
2 tbsp miso
2 tbsp agave or maple syrup
1 tbsp sesame oil + some for blushing
sesame seed and green onion ( for garnish)

Directions

  • Preheat oven 350F
  • Cut eggplant in half lengthwise
  • Brush sesame oil on cut side and baked eggplant cut side down for about 30 mins
  • In a small bowl, mix together miso, agave and sesame oil. Stir to mix well. Set aside.
  • Once eggplant is cooked and soft ( fork can be easily insert into eggplant meat) take it out of the oven. Turn cut side up and brush it with prepared sauce and drizzle with some sesame seeds.
  • Change setting from Bake to Broil (High), Put eggplant back into oven cut side up for a few minute until sauce turns dark brown ( I like it a little burnt 🙂
  • Remove from the oven, garnish with slices of green onion. Serve hot and enjoy!

P1000870

Eating Tip: Though skin can be eaten, enjoy only the meat for this recipe. Skin can be tough and the meat is easily came off the skin.  

Leave a Reply

