Ultimate Vegan Banana Bread (GFO)

Ultimate Vegan Banana Bread (Gluten-free Optional)

I have made this banana bread recipe both with normal wheat flour and gluten free flour and I like them both. Though gluten free version is more of crumbly side but it turn out very flavorful and lighter. It is probably because the gluten free flour mix is consisted of various type of bean flours, it turn out very yummy.  If you are allergic to gluten and love banana bread, this recipe will be perfect for you.

P1000854

I love having banana bread with my morning coffee, it is one of my favorite quick bread. When I was working in Australia, I have tried banana bread from every coffee shops at every conner that I could find on the way walking to work ( there are a lot of coffee shops in sydney) until I find one that I love. yeah…I am a little bit crazy about banana bread. It is simple bread but sometime they just don’t get it right. They usually make it too sweet or not enough banana. The key to good banana bread is LOT of very ripe bananas:) and now I get to make it without eggs, dairy and even gluten…Vegan version, even better! I hope you like it as much as I do.

P1000848

*the photos were taken from wheat flour version, gluten-free version will looks slightly different in texture

Ingredients

2 cups all-purpose flour or homemade gluten free flour  (you will need xanthan gum for this recipe) or store bought
3/4 cups organic cane sugar
1 tsp of baking soda
1/2 tsp salt
3/4 tsp cinnamon
1/2 cup non-dairy milk (such as almond milk and soy milk)
1 tsp apple cider vinegar
2 cups mashed banana, from 4 large very ripe bananas
1/4 cup grape seed oil
1 tsp vanilla extract

A Dash of Love

Direction

  • Preheat the oven to 350 F. Lightly oil loaf pan and set aside.
  • In mixing bowl, mix together the flour, sugars, baking soda, salt and cinnamon.
  • In another mixing bowl, mix together non-dairy milk and cider vinegar and let stand for 5 minutes. Add the mashed banana, grape seed oil and vanilla extract, whisking until well combined. Add the dry ingredients to the wet, mixing until just combined and pour the batter into the prepared loaf pan. Bake for about 1 hour, or until a toothpick inserted into the center come out clean.
Leave a Reply

